OitB Unit Structures

Ilford Wargames Group

UN Military Structures: 2033

UN High Command

Following the discovery of interstellar travel, the UN was granted overall control of off-world forces and structured these as follows: -

  • UN General Assembly
    • International Organisation for Migration (Organises recruitment of colonists)
    • IAEA (Nuclear Energy Monitoring)
  • UN Secretariat
    • UN Department of Safety and Security (UN Facility Security)
    • UN Department of Interstellar Affairs (UN Diplomatic Corps)
  • UN Security Council
    • UN Chiefs of Staff Committee (Reconstituted as an oversight committee for the UNSF)
    • UNSF: UN Space Force
      • UNSN: UN Space Navy
      • UNST: UN Space Troops (Only authorised for deployment OFF earth)
      • UNSF Survey Command
      • UNMP: UNSF Military Police
    • UN Peacekeeping Forces
  • UN Trusteeship Council (Reconstituted for Space Colonies held in trust)
    • UN Trust Police constituted as:
      • UN Colonial Police (Habitable Worlds)
      • UN Outworld Police (Other Worlds and Belts)
    • WHO (Quarantine Service)
    • UNESCO
      • ICSU: International Council for Science (Recruitment of survey unit scientific staff and coordination of scientific research for the UNSF)
  • International Court of Justice (Court of appeal for UNSF)

Note that the restriction of the complete disarmament of space was revoked when the possibility of contact with aliens was deemed imminent. This was later found to have been a prudent option.

The UNSF has found itself embroiled in two conflicts: On Ran (Epsilon Eridani), the C'thik are fighting a civil war about control of access to  the UN, and at Firefly the Oskhoak challenged the UN's access to the system.

UNSN Structures

The UNSN maintains two parallel structures: For Major Vessels and for Small Craft (Shuttles and Fighters)

For Major Vessels

The Crew of a Vessel is made up of one or more Divisions

  • Single Division crews are commanded by a Lt Commander
  • Multi-Division crews are commanded by a Commander

The basic operational unit of the UNSN is the Squadron, commanded by a Captain

This squadron may be made up of tactical groups (where needed) of multiple vessels that manoeuver and fire together which are commanded by the senior Commander in that group.

The core operational group of the UNSN is a Flotilla of multiple Squadrons, commanded by a Commodore

In Theory, Multiple Flotillas may operate together as a Combat Group, commanded by a Rear-Admiral.

The smallest strategic unit is the Fleet (Commanded by a Vice Admiral) or Base (Commanded by a Port Admiral). n.b. This is a cartographic construct collecting all Combat Groups, Flotillas and Squadrons in an area together. Fleets are mobile units; Bases are static.

In Theory, Fleets and Bases may be collected into a Sector (commanded by an Admiral)

Multiple Sectors, and any independent elements, are collected into the Navy commanded by the Grand Admiral 

For Small Craft

A collection of 1-6 small craft on a single vessel is a Flight commanded by a Flight Leader

A collection of Flights on a single vessel is the small-craft Wing for that vessel commanded by a Wing Commander

The collection of Flights on multiple vessels in a squadron is a small craft tactical group which is commanded by the senior Wing Commander in that group.

The collection of all small craft on multiple vessels in a Flotilla is a small-craft Group commanded by a Group Captain

The collection of all small craft on multiple vessels in a Combat Group is a small-craft Force commanded by the Force Commodore.